Other Awards

Metabolomics 2014, Tsuruoka, Japan
23-26 June 2014

Agilent Outstanding Investigator Awards:

1st Place: Patrick Pollard, University of Edinburgh
2nd Place: Oliver Jones, RMIT University

Royal Society of Chemistry - Metabolomics Society Joint Meeting,
Analytical Tools for Cutting Edge Metabolomics
30th April 2014, London, UK

Metabolomics Society Early Career Travel Awardees:
  • Arthur David, University of Sussex A new approach for high throughput (xeno)metabolomics based on solid phase extraction and nanoflow liquid chromatography-nanoelectrospray ionisation mass spectrometry
  • Aoife O’Gorman, University College Dublin Habitual dietary intake impacts on the lipidomic profile
  • Justin van der Hooft, University of Glasgow Robust annotation of metabolite identity – maximizing the structural information from metabolites using mass spectrometry fragmentation approaches

Metabolomics Society Best Talk Prize:

  • Aoife O’Gorman, University College Dublin

Nobel Foundation Award Winners 2014

  • Best Young Investigator Plant Metabolomics Poster: Tetsuo Ketsuragi, Nara Institute of Science and Technology
  • Best Young Investigator Plant Metabolomics Oral: Alexandra Wenzel, Technische Universitat München

2014 Best Paper Award

  • Winner – Szymańska, E., Saccenti, E., Smilde, A.K. & Westerhuis, J.A. (2012) Double-check: validation of diagnostic statistics for PLS-DA models in metabolomics studies. Metabolomics 8, S3-S16 http://doi.org/10.1007/s11306-011-0330-3
  • Runner up – Leichtle, A.B., Nuoffer, J-M., Ceglarek, U., Kase, J., Conrad, T., Witzigmann, H., Thiery, J. & Fiedler, G.M. (2012) Serum amino acid profiles and their alterations in colorectal cancer. Metabolomics 8, 643-653 http://doi.org/10.1007/s11306-011-0357-5

2014 Highest Download Award

  • Winner – Cantoria, M.J., Boros, L.G. & Meuillet, E.J. (2014) Contextual inhibition of fatty acid synthesis by metformin involves glucose-derived acetyl-CoA and cholesterol in pancreatic tumor cells. Metabolomics 10, 91-104 http://doi.org/10.1007/S11306-013-0555-4
  • Runner up – Cao, B., Li, M., Zha, W., Zhao, Q., Gu, R., Liu, L., Shi, J., Zhou, J., Zhou, F., Wu, X., Wu, Z., Wang, G. & Aa, J. (2013) Metabolomic approach to evaluating adriamycin pharmacodynamics and resistance in breast cancer cells. Metabolomics 9, 960-973 http://doi.org/10.1007/S11306-013-0517-X

Publication Awards (2013-2014, Now Discontinued)

The Metabolomics Society’s Publication Awards, Metabolomics journal – 2013 – 2014

The Best Paper Award recognised the paper with the highest total number of citations during the previous three years. The winner received a $300 gift certificate for Springer books, a certificate from the President of the Society, a front cover image in the Metabolomics journal, and the paper was made open access for 30 days. The runner-up received a certificate from the President of the Society.

The Highest Download Award recognized the paper with the highest total number of downloads during the previous three years. The winner and runner-up each received a certificate from the President of the Society.

2013 Best Paper Award

  • Winner – Masahiro Sugimoto, David T. Wong, Akiyoshi Hirayama, Tomoyoshi Soga, Masaru Tomita, Capillary electrophoresis mass spectrometry-based saliva metabolomics identified oral, breast and pancreatic cancer-specific profiles, http://doi.org/10.1007/s11306-009-0178-y
  • Runner up – Jan Hummel, Nadine Strehmel, Joachim Selbig, Dirk Walther, Joachim Kopka, Decision tree supported substructure prediction of metabolites from GC-MS profiles, http://doi.org/10.1007/s11306-010-0198-7

2013 Highest Download Award

  • Winner – Johan A. Westerhuis, Ewoud J. J. van Velzen, Huub C. J. Hoefsloot, Age K. Smilde, Multivariate paired data analysis: multilevel PLSDA versus OPLSDA, http://doi.org/10.1007/s11306-009-0185-z
  • Runner up – Hélène Pereira, Jean-François Martin, Charlotte Joly, Jean-Louis Sébédio, Estelle Pujos-Guillot, Development and validation of a UPLC/MS method for a nutritional metabolomic study of human plasma, http://doi.org/10.1007/s11306-009-0188-9

Noble Foundation Award Winners 2012

  • Anna Staszków (Polish Academy of Sciences) – Changes of phenolic secondary metabolites profiles in lupine leaves after infection with pathogenic fungus or/and elicitation with fungal toxin
  • Alan Pilon (UNESP) – Chemometric-assisted tool on plant metabolomics: Chemotypes distribution from Solanum species using PARAFAC-HCA method.

NIH Travel Award Winners 2012

  • Hamid Baniasadi (Purdue University) – Targeted Metabolic Profiling of Hepatocellular Carcinoma and Hepatitis C using LC-MS/MS
  • John Meissen (University of California, Davis) – Metabolomics Analysis of Cultured HepG2 Liver Cell Line Reveals Fructose Structure and Hexose Concentration Dependent Changes in Metabolite Profiles
  • Marshall Reaves (Princeton University) – A novel degradation mechanism, not feedback to CarAB or PyrBI, maintains pyrimidine end-product levels in Escherichia coli
  • Jing Fan (Princeton University) – Quantitation of Intracellular Metabolic Fluxes in Cancer Cell Lines
  • Samitra Pati (Claflin University) – Metabolomic Study of Neuropeptide Y and Corticotropin-Releasing Treatment in an Immortalized Rat Hypothalamic Cell Line
  • Reid Gustafson (University of California, Davis) – Functional analysis of the methyl jasmonate signaling pathway in the green alga Chlamydomonas reinhardtii
  • Jennifer Hurley-Sanders (North Carolina State University) – Use of 1H-Nuclear Magnetic Resonance to Investigate the Metabolic Profile of the Freshwater Bivalve Elliptio complanata.
  • Lashia Wilson (Claflin University) – Metabolic Profiling of Human Serum in Relation to the Presence of Human Papillomavirus

Pre-2013 Best Paper Award

  • Winner – Johan A. Westerhuis, Huub C. J. Hoefsloot, Suzanne Smit, Daniel J. Vis, Age K. Smilde, Ewoud J. J. van Velzen, John P. M. van Duijnhoven, Ferdi A. van Dorsten, Assessment of PLSDA cross validation, http://doi.org/10.1007/s11306-007-0099-6
  • Second place – David I. Broadhurst, Douglas B. Kell, Statistical strategies for avoiding false discoveries in metabolomics and related experiments, http://doi.org/10.1007/s11306-006-0037-z
  • Third place – Lloyd W. Sumner, Alexander Amberg, Dave Barrett, Michael H. Beale, Richard Beger, Clare A. Daykin, Teresa W.-M. Fan, Oliver Fiehn, Royston Goodacre, Julian L. Griffin, Thomas Hankemeier, Nigel Hardy, James Harnly, Richard Higashi, Joachim Kopka, Andrew N. Lane, John C. Lindon, Philip Marriott, Andrew W. Nicholls, Michael D. Reily, John J. Thaden, Mark R. Viant, Proposed minimum reporting standards for chemical analysis, http://doi.org/10.1007/s11306-007-0082-2